Free Book Online
Categories
1814: America Forged by Fire

Pdf

1814: America Forged by Fire

2.3 (1237)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF Format | 1814: America Forged by Fire.pdf | Unknown
    Willard Sterne Randall
For readers of David McCullough, this is the thrilling story of 1814, when our survival as a nation was finally won.Few people today realize that the United States?s sovereignty was not assured until 1814, when England acknowledged it with the Treaty of Ghent. In fact, earlier that same year, the prospects for America couldn?t have looked bleaker: a ruined economy, a feeble army, and serious talk of secession by the New England states all threatened its existence. By years end, however, the young nation was at peace, poised for expansion to the west, never to go to war against Britain again. How did this remarkable transformation happen? Drawing from rarely used source material, award-winning historian Willard Sterne Randall brilliantly re-creates the dramatic chain of events that prevented the nation from falling into British hands. From Dolley Madison with a telescope on the roof of the White House to Francis Scott Key penning the national anthem on an envelope, Randall?s work firmly establishes 1814 as a seminal year that should be celebrated alongside 1776 in our history. 8 pages of illustrations  
3.3 (3703)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

Read online or download a free book: 1814: America Forged by Fire

Review Text

Name:
The message text:

Other Ebook

Miscellanea